Corpus Cannabis

Research ›Cultivation ›R08 · Living Soil & Indoor No-Till: What the Evidence Actually Supports

Verify corrections

Claude2.3k words

Also in this stage: Correction round (Gemini)

R08 Correction-Round Citation Verification (CCKE PROTOCOL v1.3)

Date: 2026-08-31 | Verifier: Claude (Crossref API + Europe PMC full text + site fetches)

Summary table

# Citation as given IDENTITY CLAIM
1 Massuela et al. 2023, 10.3390/plants12071536 FAILED NO (wrong paper entirely)
2 Carlile et al. 2015, 10.1016/j.scienta.2015.01.022 FAILED NO (wrong paper entirely)
3 Raviv et al. 2002, 10.1016/B978-044450597-2/50005-4 FAILED (DOI nonexistent; ISBN = math book) UNVERIFIABLE as cited
4 Argo & Fisher 2002 (via seedlinggrowers.co.za PDF) PARTIAL (real authors/work; unstable URL) YES (consistent with their framework)
5 Ramirez et al. 2012, 10.1111/j.1365-2486.2012.02639.x VERIFIED PARTIAL (cross-biome study, not strictly “meta-analysis”)
6 Scheuerell & Mahaffee 2002, 10.1080/1065657X.2002.10702095 VERIFIED YES
7 Pant et al. 2012, 10.1016/j.scienta.2012.09.019 VERIFIED YES
8 Mills 2025, 10.1016/j.oneear.2025.101179 VERIFIED YES
9 Punja et al. 2025, 10.3390/plants14050830 (Virkon S claim) VERIFIED (identity previously confirmed) NO — claim REFUTED by full text
10 Angelova 2004 + Linger 2002 (organ ordering) Both VERIFIED PARTIAL (ordering as stated is contradicted)
11 Producer URLs (6) see below 3 match, 2 partial, 1 dead

Details

1. “Massuela et al. 2023, DOI 10.3390/plants12071536” — IDENTITY FAILED

10.3390/plants12071536 resolves to: Arruda, Borsoi, Andrade, Pastore, Marostica Junior (2023), “Scientific Advances in the Last Decade on the Recovery, Characterization, and Functionality of Bioactive Compounds from the Araticum Fruit (Annona crassiflora Mart.)”, Plants 12(7):1536 — a Brazilian fruit-chemistry review, zero connection to cannabis or Massuela. There is no 2023 MDPI Plants paper by Massuela. Crossref shows only two Massuela cannabis papers: (a) Crispim Massuela et al. 2022, “Impact of Harvest Time and Pruning Technique on Total CBD Concentration and Yield of Medicinal Cannabis”, Plants 11(1):140, 10.3390/plants11010140 (harvest/pruning — no organic-vs-mineral comparison); (b) the already-verified Massuela et al. 2023, Frontiers in Plant Science 14:1233232, DOI 10.3389/fpls.2023.1233232 (“Cannabis Hunger Games: … impact of organic and mineral fertilizer levels on biomass, CBD yield and NUE”), which is the correct tuple for the 19.6 vs 23.7 g/plant (+21% mineral) comparison. Action: replace 10.3390/plants12071536 with 10.3389/fpls.2023.1233232 at all occurrences.

2. “Carlile et al. 2015, DOI 10.1016/j.scienta.2015.01.022” — IDENTITY FAILED

Resolves to: Kitazaki et al. 2015, “Far-red light enhances removal of pericarps in tartary buckwheat (Fagopyrum tataricum Gaertn.) sprout production under artificial lighting”, Scientia Horticulturae 185:167-174 — unrelated (buckwheat sprouts / far-red light). Correct tuple (previously verified): Carlile, Cattivello & Zaccheo 2015, “Organic Growing Media: Constituents and Properties”, Vadose Zone Journal 14(6), DOI 10.2136/vzj2014.09.0125.

3. Raviv et al. 2002, DOI 10.1016/B978-044450597-2/50005-4 — IDENTITY FAILED (fabricated/mangled DOI)

  • The DOI returns 404 at both Crossref and doi.org — it is not registered.
  • The embedded ISBN 978-0-444-50597-2 belongs to “Numerical Analysis 2000: Interpolation and Extrapolation” (Brezinski, Elsevier) — a mathematics volume. The DOI cannot be a Raviv horticulture chapter.
  • Plausible intended sources for “container physical property degradation over cycles”:
    • Wallach, R. (2008) “Physical Characteristics of Soilless Media”, ch. 3 in Raviv & Lieth (eds), Soilless Culture: Theory and Practice, Elsevier — DOI 10.1016/b978-044452975-6.50005-8 (Crossref-verified; note near-identical suffix “50005”, suggesting a mangled copy of this DOI).
    • Raviv, Wallach & Blom (2004) “The effect of physical properties of soilless media on plant performance — a review”, Acta Horticulturae 644, DOI 10.17660/actahortic.2004.644.34 (Crossref-verified).
    • A genuine “Raviv et al. 2002” chapter exists only as Raviv, Wallach, Silber & Bar-Tal, “Substrates and their analysis”, in Savvas & Passam (eds), Hydroponic Production of Vegetables and Ornamentals, Embryo Publications, Athens, 2002 — no DOI exists for it.
  • Action: do not use the cited DOI. Recommend re-anchoring to Wallach 2008 (10.1016/b978-044452975-6.50005-8) after confirming it supports the specific degradation-over-cycles claim.

4. “Argo & Fisher 2002” via seedlinggrowers.co.za PDF — IDENTITY PARTIAL / CLAIM YES / URL FLAGGED

  • Real bibliographic object: Argo, W.R. & Fisher, P.R. (2002), Understanding pH Management for Container-Grown Crops, Meister Publishing, Willoughby OH (book; no DOI). Argo & Fisher also have a large Crossref-verified HortScience/HortTechnology corpus on container substrate pH (e.g., Bishko, Fisher & Argo 2002 HortScience 37(3):511; Fisher, Argo & Biernbaum 2014 HortScience 49(8):1061 on fertilizer potential acidity and substrate pH).
  • Claim (“substrate pH dominated by irrigation water bicarbonate alkalinity; >100 mg/L CaCO3 drives pH upward/>7.4”): consistent with the Argo & Fisher pH-management framework — water alkalinity is treated as the dominant long-term driver of substrate pH, with ~2 meq/L (~100 mg/L CaCO3) the common threshold where pH climb becomes problematic without acid injection. CLAIM YES (thresholds are their standard guidance range).
  • URL check: https://seedlinggrowers.co.za/.../Managing-your-pH_Paul-Fisher-and-Bill-Argo.pdf returns HTTP 200, application/pdf, 191 KB — the file exists, but it is a third-party South African nursery’s re-host of a trade-press article, not a stable identifier. FLAG per CCKE: cite the Meister 2002 book (ISBN 1892829134) or a Crossref-DOI’d Argo/Fisher paper instead; keep the URL at most as a courtesy link.

5. Ramirez et al. 2012 — IDENTITY VERIFIED / CLAIM PARTIAL

Ramirez, Craine & Fierer 2012, “Consistent effects of nitrogen amendments on soil microbial communities and processes across biomes”, Global Change Biology 18(6):1918-1927. Topic matches (N fertilization suppresses/alters soil microbial communities). Caveat: it is an experimental study of 28 soils from a broad range of ecosystems, not formally a “global meta-analysis” — soften wording to “cross-biome study of 28 soils”.

6. Scheuerell & Mahaffee 2002 — IDENTITY VERIFIED / CLAIM YES

“Compost Tea: Principles and Prospects For Plant Disease Control”, Compost Science & Utilization 10(4):313-338. Exactly the canonical compost-tea review.

7. Pant et al. 2012 — IDENTITY VERIFIED / CLAIM YES

Pant, Radovich, Hue & Paull 2012, “Biochemical properties of compost tea associated with compost quality and effects on pak choi growth”, Scientia Horticulturae 148:138-146. Compost tea study as cited.

8. Mills 2025 — IDENTITY VERIFIED / CLAIM YES

Mills, E. 2025, “Energy-intensive indoor cultivation drives the cannabis industry’s expanding carbon footprint”, One Earth 8(3):101179. Cannabis LCA/carbon as cited (the Mills 2012 update).

9. Punja et al. 2025 — Virkon S claim: CLAIM NO (REFUTED by full text)

Full text obtained via Europe PMC (PMC11902214). Findings on Virkon S (potassium peroxymonosulfate, tested 0.25-2%, some assays to 4%):

  • Whole roots: Virkon (0.25-2%) had no effect on HLVd RNA stability.
  • Intact leaves: no effect.
  • Crushed leaf extracts / sap on filter discs: 2% Virkon did not degrade the RNA (bands still amplified); only 10-20% bleach and 1000 ppm HOCl destroyed it.
  • Direct sap treatment: no effect.
  • Only in water containing diluted infectious sap did 2% Virkon degrade HLVd RNA.
  • Discussion states explicitly: “Other chemical products, including Virkon, while not affecting viroid RNA integrity in vitro, may still be recommended as a cleaning agent…” Verdict: the claim “2% Virkon S achieves effective HpLVd RNA inactivation” is false as a general statement. Accurate statement: 2% Virkon S was ineffective against HLVd RNA in plant tissue and sap; it degraded HLVd RNA only in contaminated water. The paper’s effective disinfectants are 10-20% bleach (8.25% NaOCl product; i.e., >=~0.8% NaOCl final) and 1000 ppm (600-1000 ppm in water) hypochlorous acid.

9a. Verbatim bleach/HOCl/Virkon quotes (Europe PMC PMC11902214), by section

  • Abstract: “Infectious plant extract treated with 5–10% bleach (0.825% NaOCl) or 1000 ppm hypochlorous acid yielded no RT-PCR bands, suggesting the RNA was degraded.”
  • 2.12.1 Whole Roots: “The exposure of HLVd-infected root segments to treatments that included the commercial sanitation products Virkon (0.25–2%)and Zerotol (0.33–2%), as well as the laboratory sanitation products that included bleach containing 8.25% NaOCl (5–20%) and hypochlorous acid (0.1–2 ppm) for 2 min followed by rinsing, RNA extraction from treated and untreated tissues and RT-PCR showed that none of the treatments affected the stability of the viroid…”
  • 2.12.2 Leaf Extracts: “…only bleach at 20% degraded the RNA to a point where it was not amplified by RT-PCR (Figure 15c).” / “The treatments that did not show an effect included Virkon (2%), Zerotol (2%), hypochlorous acid (200 ppm), RNase A (1 unit), skim milk powder (20%) and control (no treatment).” / “The results showed that only bleach at 10% for 2 min or at 20% for 1 or 2 min completed degraded HLVd RNA, while 10% bleach for 1 min caused partial degradation…” / “Further treatments that completely degraded the RNA of HLVd in extracted plant sap were 1000 ppm hypochlorous acid for 1 min and skim milk powder (20%) for 20 min.” / “Bleach at 5, 10 and 20% was effective in degrading the RNA of HLVd at all dilutions (Figure 17a).” [sap diluted 1:1, 1:2, 1:4 in water]
  • Figure 17 caption: “(a) …destroyed the RNA since it was not amplified or was only weakly amplified: 5%, 10% and 20% bleach (8.25% NaOCl) with sap diluted by 1:1, 1:2 and 1:4.” / “(c) …Treatments that did not produce a band were bleach (B) containing 8.25% NaOCl at 5, 10 and 20%, 2% Virkon in water (V) and 600 ppm hypochlorous acid.”
  • 2.12.3 Contaminated Water: “…bleach (5–20%) and hypochlorous acid (600 ppm) were shown to be effective once again…” / “Treatment with UV-C for 1–5 min had no effect but Virkon at 2% degraded the RNA of HLVd whereas, in previous experiments, this chemical was ineffective when plant sap was treated compared to sap diluted in water.”
  • Discussion: “In the present study, bleach products containing 7.55–8.25% NaOCl were shown to be effective at levels ranging from 5% to 20%.” / “…achieving minimal levels comparable to that provided by 5% of 7.55% NaOCl is required.” / “Other chemical products, including Virkon, while not affecting viroid RNA integrity in vitro, may still be recommended as a cleaning agent to reduce virus and viroid transmission [32, 67].” / “When added to water containing HLVd, Virkon at 2% reduced viroid integrity but had no effect when it was added directly to plant sap.”
  • 4.18 Methods: “The commercial greenhouse products tested were Virkon S (potassium peroxymonosulfate + sodium chloride, LanXESS, Toronto, ON, Canada) (tested at 0.25, 1.0, 1.5 and 2.0%)…” / “The laboratory sanitation products tested included household bleach (Chlorox, containing 8.25% sodium hypochlorite NaOCl) (tested at 5, 10, 15 and 20%) and hypochlorous acid … (tested at 0.1, 0.25, 0.5, 1.0 and 2.0 ppm).” [roots] / “Virkon at 2–4%, Zerotol at 2%, bleach at 2.5–20% and hypochlorous acid at 200–1000 ppm.” [leaf discs] / “bleach (8.25% NaOCl) at a final concentration of 5, 10 and 20% (v/v), Virkon at a concentration of 2% (w/v), … hypochlorous acid at a concentration of 600 ppm” [water]

Reconciliation: the “5–10% bleach” (abstract) vs “10–20% bleach” figures are matrix-dependent, both textual: undiluted sap on discs required 10% (2 min) or 20%; sap diluted in water and contaminated water were cleared by 5–20%; Discussion generalizes “effective at levels ranging from 5% to 20%”. Nothing worked on intact roots or leaves. Recommended citation wording: “bleach (8.25% NaOCl product) at 10–20% on sap-contaminated surfaces, 5% sufficient in dilute aqueous matrices; 600–1000 ppm HOCl; Virkon S 2% ineffective except in water.”

10. Angelova 2004 + Linger 2002 — organ ordering claim: PARTIAL

  • Angelova et al. 2004 (Industrial Crops and Products 19(3):197-205; identity VERIFIED): for flax and hemp the reported order is roots > stems > leaves > seeds (cotton differs: leaves > seeds > roots > stems).
  • Linger et al. 2002 (Industrial Crops and Products 16(1):33-42; identity VERIFIED): measured seeds, leaves, fibres, hurds only — no roots, no flowers; highest concentrations were in leaves (Pb: leaves > fibres > shives > seeds; Cd: leaves > seeds > fibres~shives).
  • Attributed claim “Roots >> Leaves > Stems > Flowers”: root dominance is supported (Angelova, hemp), and low flower/seed accumulation is supported, but the Leaves > Stems middle ordering is contradicted by Angelova (stems > leaves in hemp) and neither paper measured flowers. The two papers also disagree with each other on leaves-vs-stems. Recommend restating as: “roots retain the most; reproductive tissues (seeds) the least; leaf-vs-stem ordering varies by metal and study (Angelova 2004: roots > stems > leaves > seeds; Linger 2002, aboveground only: leaves highest).”

11. Producer URL spot-checks (ANECDOTAL tier)

  • (a) coastmountaincannabis.com — EXISTS, MATCHES: “organic cannabis… certified by ProCert… No-Till Organic Living Soil… grown in BC”. Indoor/Pemberton not stated on homepage (BC location generic) — core claims match.
  • (b) rubiconorganics.com — EXISTS, MOSTLY MATCHES: Simply Bare(TM) Organic brand confirmed; Delta BC facility implied (asset “RO_Delta_QualityatScale”); FVOPA certification not stated on homepage (interior page likely) — PARTIAL on certification detail.
  • (c) sweetdirt.com — EXISTS, PARTIAL/MISMATCH: now presents as a Maine recreational dispensary curating products “from local Maine cannabis companies”; stores temporarily closed for renovations; no MOFGA Clean Cannabis language on current homepage. Certification claim not verifiable from current site.
  • (d) habitat.life — EXISTS, MISMATCH on current content: homepage is now aquaponics + organic coho salmon and salmon ova; aquaponics in Chase BC historically correct for Habitat Craft Cannabis, but no cannabis on current homepage — the cannabis operation appears de-emphasized/exited. Flag as stale reference.
  • (e) stewartfarms.life — EXISTS, MATCHES (partially shown): Stewart Farms, New Brunswick cannabis wellness (THC/CBD bath bombs, topicals); Facebook handle “StewartVerticalFarms”; aquaponics/St. Stephen not on homepage but consistent with brand — core identity matches.
  • (f) whistlercannabis.com — EFFECTIVELY DEAD: returns HTTP 200 with a ~114-byte empty page (www. same); no content, no title. Not usable as a citation; find an archived snapshot or replace.

Verdict counts

  • IDENTITY: 6 VERIFIED (5,6,7,8,9,10x2 papers), 3 FAILED (1,2,3), 1 PARTIAL (4)
  • CLAIM: 4 YES (4,6,7,8), 3 PARTIAL (5,10, and Rubicon-type site partials), 3 NO (1,2,9), 1 UNVERIFIABLE (3)
  • URLs: 4 live-and-matching (a,b,e + PDF), 2 partial/stale (c,d), 1 dead (f)

Source file in the research repository: research/reports/R08-living-soil-indoor-no-till/verification/R08-verify-corrections.md. Private links, some names and practitioner-record passages are removed from the public copy, and broken character encoding from file conversion is repaired; nothing else is changed.

Spotted something off, or have a question?Leave feedback

This goes privately to the site's author. It isn't posted on the site. Corrections that hold up are added to the page, with thanks.

What kind of feedback?

Please don't include private medical details. This isn't a way to get medical advice.